I’m Getting Married In The Morning!

I am taking a leap of faith here and hoping that the world is still sane and today gays and lesbians throughout the beautiful State of California can find the legal happiness they all have been dreaming of.  You see, I am on the road right now and I’m bringing this to you from the past, Friday the 13th to be exact so I am flying on faith that this is still happening today.  Because today for Whack-A-Doodle Wednesday I have a question.  Why?  Not why should gay people get married but….

I think that says it all.  I hope people realize this is no different than laws barring people with different skin colors from marrying.  I mean honestly, just because one person has more melanin in their skin than another, they can’t get married?  It was stupid then but people were still willing to protest that.  The majority of us now realize how idiotic that was and this is no different.

I decided to go onto the Pro-Prop 8 site and read their arguments so you don’t need to burn your eyes out.   Here is a main point, brought to you by the Withersppoon Institute.  Who are they?  According to their website “The Witherspoon Institute is an independent research center that works to enhance public understanding of the moral foundations of free and democratic societies. Located in Princeton, it promotes the application of fundamental principles of republican government and ordered liberty to contemporary problems through a variety of centers, research programs, seminars, consultations, and publications.”  So here are their ten principles that summarize the value of marriage.

TEN PRINCIPLES ON MARRIAGE AND THE PUBLIC GOOD

1. Marriage is a personal union, intended for the whole of life, of husband and wife.  (So what do you do with the over 50% of marriages that end in divorce?)

2. Marriage is a profound human good, elevating and perfecting our social and sexual nature. (I’m not sure how marriage perfects anything, speaking as a single female.  I think I’m pretty damn perfect the way I am.  I can also guarantee you there was nothing elevating or perfect with Brittany Spears drug induced nuptials.)

3. Ordinarily, both men and women who marry are better off as a result. (Better off?  Really?  Does that include abusive marriages?  Cheating spouses?  I’m thinking that being single makes me better off but that is my choice.  Wait a minute!  They said “both men and women who marry are better off..”, they didn’t say married to each other!  Ha HA!)

4. Marriage protects and promotes the well-being of children. (Says who?  I have seen TONS of screwed up kids from divorced families.  I also see tons of screwed up kids who are raised by absent nanny-using, work addicted, parents.  I say adults who are dedicated to the ongoing and present parenting of children promotes their well-being.  One of each sex is not a required element.  Loving that kid is the required element.)

5. Marriage sustains civil society and promotes the common good. (Really?  Give me some examples of how people who are married are better at improving society than people who aren’t.)

6. Marriage is a wealth-creating institution, increasing human and social capital. (OK, I’ll give you that one.  BUT couldn’t we raise more revenue if everyone who wanted to get married was allowed to?)

7. When marriage weakens, the equality gap widens, as children suffer from the disadvantages of growing up in homes without committed mothers and fathers.  (True.  However the sex of the adult has nothing to do with this.  It happens because adults abandon their kids, ignore them, abuse them, not because a child has two daddies or two mommies.)

8. A functioning marriage culture serves to protect political liberty and foster limited government.  (I have no idea how that works.  Does that mean you have to be married to hold public office?)

9. The laws that govern marriage matter significantly.  (Again… how?)

10. “Civil marriage” and “religious marriage” cannot be rigidly or completely divorced from one another.  (Why not?  I know for a fact there are a great many non-religious people who are married so they are separate.)

So before I go, I will leave you with one thought…

I agree with you.  Hell, I’d marry two gay men if I could!  Think of the fabulous house we would have?

Posted on August 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

