Pajama Jeans: Satan’s Ploy To Enslave Us All

Yes boys and girls, fashion has taken a new nosedive to the bottom of the proverbial barrel.  I thought San Francisco was pretty fashion backward when you consider tie-dye, Birkenstocks, Crocs and braiding your underarm hair but that is another story all together.  I heard about this “trend” from down LA way and wrote it off as the new low rent fashion of the Inland Empire.  I was wrong.  I saw it alive and in person just the other day when I went out to get my cheap Easter dinner at Pasta Pomodoro.

http://www.pajamajeans.com/ is the website for pants gone wrong.  If you listen to the YouTube pitch, you will hear them throw around great phrases such as “The style of your favorite jeans, together with the comfort of pajamas!” or “Just because you’re busy doesn’t mean you can’t look sharp!”.  I particularly like them drawing attention to the top stitching, brass rivets and “European styling”.  So it has to look like it came from Europe for it to be worth $40?  Whatever happened to “Look for the union label?”.  Oh yeah, it died with affordable, low maintenance, high mileage automobiles with modern styling.

So here is the question: Are Americans Really This Lazy?

I say yes, Hell yes, yes and a bucket of chicken YES!  On the whole we are lazy, under educated, shallow people with short attention spans.  This is evidenced by the masses obsession with Brittany, Branjelina, Crustables and not knowing what the capital of New York is (it’s Albany BTW).  The people on the street know who Lady Gaga is (I still have no clue) but can’t name any Chief Justices of the Supreme Court(Ginzberg, Thomas, Roberts, Sotomayor, Scalia and Kennedy off the top of my head – I’m missing 3).  That is sad.  What is sadder still is people don’t dress anymore.  They look like unmade beds, they wear jeans to the office even if they are an attorney, they wear shorts to a formal wedding and t-shirts to Court.

We are living in a time when people will pay MONEY for a giant flannel bag thing to wear while you are watching TV but it has slits so your hands are free to talk on the phone or eat your cupcake in a cup.  So now people are so lazy that they want to wear flannel pajamas that look like jeans so they can roll out of bed and go to the Costco to buy a carton of Winstons and a truck load of spray cheese on sale.

WHY, for the love of God and puppies, did people think this was a good idea?  When you don’t take pride in your appearance, don’t you lose IQ points?  Isn’t looking good the hallmark of a civilized society?  I can only think that pajama pants in public is the first step on the path of anarchy, Satanism and dogs & cats living together.  Do you think it’s a good idea to wear PJ’s disguised as jeans because you are just too lazy to put on different pants?  Are flannel pajama bottoms acceptable in public as “everyday clothing” at all?  Am I just cursing the darkness to think this is nasty, low class and the beginning of the Fall of Rome?  Inquiring minds want to know.

Posted on April 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. As I sit here in my bathrobe working, I feel a kinship to you, Dre. Wear some REAL clothes outside, people, fercrissakes!

    Molly Burke CPCC MSU
    Queen of Confidence
    http://www.lifepurposeworks.com
    “EVerybody can use a boost of confidence every now and again!”

  2. I’m inclined to think you’re not meant to sleep in these (though you may feel like you can) Jeans are binding and uncomfortable–well they are on me. The same cut in a comfortable fabric? Sounds like yoga pants to me, only with pockets. Probably too much spandex though for most of us. But in any case, they’re not marketing them as pajamas, just as pants that are as comfortable as pajamas.

  3. I haven’t seen these pants of which you speak, but I have seen people come into the animal shelter in their PJs… at all hours of the day and night. Yes, I get snarky about it behind their backs. So do my co-workers.

    I work nights and because I get up later than most people I might be seen in my pjs in the front yard feeding the cat, but NEVER off my property.

Leave a Reply

