Perfectly Coiffed – There Is No Recession In Walnut Creek

The other day I had to go to Walnut Creek, a sleepy hamlet where the 24 and the 680 meet up in Northern California.  It is nice little town but I have noticed something lately, this is where the coiffed, clothed and cafe’d come to congregate.  There is no recession in Walnut Creek.

Now I am sure there are other bastions of old money capitalism out there thriving away.  This is a slice of one city awash in a sea of entitled people.  While there are a few stores that have closed their doors, I see that Tiffany’s is still going strong as are Betsey Johnson, Bebes, Apple, Barnes & Noble, P.F. Changs and California Pizza Kitchen to name a few of the establishments in the downtown area.

All I wanted was to buy a book, just one book.  As I made the walk to Barnes & Noble I see full stores, full restaurants, full of entitled people, noses in their crackberries, reading the WSJ or exclaiming over the latest copy of Marie Claire.  The worst are the teen girls, recklessly driving daddy’s black SUV, heedless to pedestrians of all sorts (old women, small kids, two-headed talking fish).  They are chatting away on their phone with their Bluetooth, with a latte in one hand and their pocket dog in a designer bag in the other.

I just want to smack them upside of their clueless heads.  “Hey!  Dakota or Destyni or whatever the fuck your name is, get your tank of a car off my foot!”  They don’t care.  They don’t pay attention to anyone but themselves and their sense of consumer glee as they go to the Apple store to buy a Nano in every color so they will go with all their outfits.

Perhaps I am jealous.  There are days when I feel I am trapped inside a Charles Dicken’s novel, looking into people’s windows on Christmas morning and seeing all the things that I can’t have.  It would be nice to be a “Lady That Lunches”, to have no other worries other than if my spa appointment is going to run into lunch with the girls.  It would be great to buy a new laptop when ever I wanted one or to fit into size 6 Betsey Johnson suits and not faint at the cost!

My life would be “easier” but it would also be boring.  It would be terrible to be a self-centered twit, prancing around with my stupid pocket dog and not giving a damn about anyone else.  I couldn’t be that kind of person.  I would CARE if I plowed into an elderly nun or ran down a talking two-headed fish in the the cross walk.

I guess I will go back to my government cheese, my insane kitten and the cadre of evil squirrels camped out across the street and thank my lucky stars that I have a soul, don’t “sparkle” in the sun and enjoy my life, flawed as it is.

Posted on March 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree; the thought of selling my soul for the ‘bright and shiny’ world of the rich turns my stomach.

  2. Yes, enjoying your life is what we all wish for you. That and writing delightful blogs about it.

  3. Come on… you want a pocket dog. Admit it! Something named Foofy who is color-coordinated with your Chanel bag. 🙂 That would be sooooooo you!

Leave a Reply

