Nothing Says “Sticky Situation” Like A Wall of Gum

As a California Girl, born and bred, I never had the inclination to travel farther north than Sonoma.  Let’s face it, most Californians think of the upper reaches of our State as Oregon.  Have you ever been to Oregon?  I think there are 5,000 people in the entire State.

However one weekend in late summer I grabbed one of my girlfriends and we made a trek to Seattle.  Why?  We were meeting friends we had met online and were going to hang out for the weekend.  The weather was in our favor, the sun was out, we saw so many cool things that I was shocked.

I had no idea that part of old Seattle is underground and still there to see.  There was the Pike’s Place Market where they toss fish and we gobbled a bag of the most delectable fresh made, wee cinnamon sugar donuts ever!  We had dinner and drank, we went to a bar, watched a band and drank, we drank and we drank.

So what do you do when you are out on the town in Seattle in the Pike’s Place Market area with new friends, old friends and a fleet of whiskey sours?  You go to the gum wall.

The what?!  Yes, I can hear it from here.  The GUM wall as in a wall of gum.  Chewing gum.  People chew gum and stick it on this wall.  Actually it is the side of a building and the gum goes up pretty high.  When I first took this picture and showed it to friends, they thought it was a bunch of condoms.  I can see their point.  But it’s not.  It’s gum.  Real American Chewing Gum.  It’s surreal.

The two bright green pieces are mine and my girlfriends.  The other bright green piece that is stringy and going around our gum is our new friend Miss Amy.  It just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy knowing our friendship is immortalized in gum on an alley wall in Seattle for all to see.  Gum is the glue that holds friendships together.

If you want to see it for yourself, the gum wall is in Post Alley under Pike’s Place Market and is by the Market Theatre.  Locals tell me Theatresports people started sticking gum to the wall in 1993.  Drama people – figures.  The Market officials declared the wall on official tourist attraction in 1999.  It is covered several inches thick, is over 15 feet high and travels down the building for 50 feet.  Now that is a whole lot of gum.

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow. Makes me think of the moment in the movie “Elf” when Elf (Will Ferrel) found gum under a railing at the subway and thought it was awesome that the city of New York provided free gum to visitors. I wonder if anyone has ever tried to re-chew any of this…

    And my second thought it; is gum eternal?! If they’ve been doing it since 1993… and IT’S STILL THERE, PEOPLE! Makes me think the stories about chewed gum lasting for seven years in your stomach is true…

  2. Ironically, I think the gum may be instrumental in holding up the building at this point.

    Good times! Come back and see us! We’ll go into more restaurants that are too dark to read the menus. It will be fun.

  3. LOL! Sooo true Scott! I plum forgot about not being able to read the menus in that bar. I do remember we were really close to the stage. We do need to go back. Ahhhhh, now for a job or winning the Lotto!

Leave a Reply

